Claremorris Drama Festival 2019 - 19 Days To Go!

*** Fringe festival line-up finalised for 2019 – See details here ***

Billy Keane Opens 2018 Festival

2018 Opening Night

Corofin Perform Opening Play for 2018

2018 Adjudicator - Ciaran McAuley

2018 Awards

The 2019 Claremorris Drama and Fringe Festival will take place from Thursday 14th March 2019 to 23th March.

The opening will be performed by Senator Marie-Louise O’Donnell.

The full line-up is now available on our Schedule page

The adjudicator will be Alan Haslett ADA GODA.

Anyone who wishes to become a Patron or Sponsor please contact any member of the Committee.

Fringe 2019 Line-up

The final line-up for the 2019 Claremorris Fringe Festival of Drama has been announced!

For full details on this year’s competition, please see the new Fringe Festival website

Friday March 15th

Andrew’s Hollow
 John Corless – Claremorris, Co. Mayo
The White Feather
 Michael Goulding – Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo

Sunday March 17th

Mammy and Me (And Fifi Makes Three)
 Nicola Kean – Claremorris, Co. Mayo
Some Other Doorway
 Fiona Kelly – Dublin

Monday March 18th

Old Broad
 John Paul Murphy – Galway
 Sarah Fahy – Loughrea, Co. Galway

Thursday March 21st

I Am Marriage Counsellor of Poland
 Paul Maher – Tipperary
Down and Out
 Peter Gould – London

Friday March 22nd

 Joe Bergin – Kildare
He, She And It
 Moira Mahony – Athenry, Co. Galway

2019 Season Tickets

seasonticket2 seasonticket1

Season Tickets are now available from the Town Hall Box Office – 09493 10999

Season Ticket: €90 for 10 nights
New 5 Night Ticket: €50
Nightly Tickets €15

Senator Marie-Louise O’Donnell to open 2019 Festival


We’re delighted to announce that Senator Marie-Louise O’Donnell will open the 49th Claremorris Drama and Fringe festival on March 14th 2019.

Marie-Louise became head of drama at the teacher training college, Carysfort College where she taught for ten years, until the college’s closure in 1988, when she was appointed as a lecturer in the School of Communications at Dublin City University (DCU). At DCU for 23 years, she taught a range of communications and arts courses, including radio documentary making, storytelling and public speaking, and the university sent her for training at the BBC. Research interests included theatrical and radio voice performance, and ancient and modern chorus speech.

She also became involved in building the arts aspect of campus life, including DCU Arts Week, the Writer in Residence Programme, Ford Society Awards and Children’s Arts Days. She worked on productions including the Larkin Concert Series, Wilde Space Theatre, Open Air Opera, RIAM graduate concerts, and a performance at DCU by the Royal Shakespeare Company. This work included a key role in the development of The Helix cultural centre, especially including its performance spaces. When the Helix launched, she took a role as Associate Director, and later managed the smaller of its two theatre spaces, The Space.

O’Donnell has also lectured extensively in Ireland, Europe and the USA in the areas of education, and Irish culture, especially drama and language. In the early 2000s she also spent six months as a touring actor across the UK and Ireland, in The Merry Wives of Windsor and King John with the Northern Broadsides company.

2018 Season Tickets


Season Tickets are now available from the Town Hall Box Office – 09493 10999

Season Ticket: €90 for 10 nights
New 5 Night Ticket: €50
Nightly Tickets €15

Fringe Qualifiers for 2018

The list of qualifiers for the Fringe Festival 2018 are below:

A Swinging Christmas, by Joe Starzyk, USA
Garage Invasion, by Rex McGregor, Auckland, NZ
Grotty Grogan, by Eamonn Dolan, Waterford
Hard Feelings, by Peter Gould, Ealing, London
I Bet You Say That To All The Boys, by Ken Armstrong, Castlebar
Interplay, by Joe Bergin, Leixlip, Kildare
Nobody’s Child, by Michael Goulding, Ballyhaunis
Non-Verbal, by Lorraine Lynch, Loughrea
Since Death Began, by John Corless, Claremorris
The Bris, by Darren Ó Riagáin, Australia