Author Archives: Enda McCallig

2016 Season Tickets


Season Tickets are now available from the Town Hall Box Office – 09493 10999

Season Ticket: €90 for 10 nights
New 5 Night Ticket: €50
Nightly Tickets €15

Seamus Mallon Opened the 2014 Festival


Claremorris Drama Festival Committee were delighted to have the opening of the 2014 All-Ireland Confined Finals in Claremorris performed by Seamus Mallon.

Seamus Frederick Mallon (born 17 August 1936) was the first Deputy First Minister of Northern Ireland from 1998 to 2001. He was also the Deputy Leader of the Social Democratic and Labour Party from 1979 to 2001. Seamus was educated at the Abbey Christian Brothers Grammar School in Newry and St. Patrick’s Grammar School, Armagh.

As a career he chose teaching, becoming headmaster of St. James’s Primary School in Markethill. Seamus was also involved in drama and a member of Newpoint Players Newry. Later in his illustrious career, Mr. Seamus Mallon was one of the architects of the Good Friday Agreement in 1998, and helped instigate the road map to the peace settlement, we have today.

Seamus was also involved in the Gaelic Athletic Association, playing Gaelic football for County Armagh.

Newpoint Players [Newry and Warrenpoint] were formed in 1946 shortly after the war. For most of the years since, the drama group has produced at least one full-length play a year, frequently several other productions and has boasted a strong team of actors, producers and back-stage players.

Seamus produced many plays for Newpoint Players including “The Borstal Boy” by Brendan Behan and many musicals including “West Side Story” and “Oklahoma”. He also produced plays for The Armagh Theatre Group including “The Hostage”.

In the early sixties Seamus Mallon directed Thornton Wilder’s “Our Town”, a production still remembered fondly by some members and patrons. It won everything, including the society’s second All-Ireland title in Athlone.

Geoff O’ Keeffe Article


There is an interesting article on the website about our adjudicator for the 2014 All-Ireland confined finals. In it Geoff discusses his involvement in the amateur drama movement as an actor, then director and now as an adjudicator.

You can read the article here:

And you can follow Geoff on twitter here:

Town Hall Secures Leader Funding

Town Hall

Good news for the Drama Festival and Claremorris this morning as the Environment Minister Phil Hogan has approved LEADER funding of €200,000 for the Town Hall.

The Town Hall Trust is planning to carry out refurbishment works at the Town Hall ahead of hosting the All-Ireland Confined Drama Festival next year.